Historical Comment about the New Age from my You Tube Channel and my response:


Comment:

New Age practices and philosophies sometimes draw inspiration from major world religions: Buddhism, Taoism, Chinese folk religion, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism; with strong influences from East Asian religions, Gnosticism, Neopaganism, New Thought, Spiritualism, Theosophy, Universalism and Western esotericism. The term New Age refers to the coming astrological Age of Aquarius.

My Reply:

This is an accurate summation of the movement. After twenty plus years of spiritual searching in a New Age and Eastern religions and practices, I am so grateful to now be Eastern Orthodox. There were partial truths in all that I participated in, but now I realize that most were a distraction and some were spiritually dangerous! I was slowly being seduced to the dark side in the guise of enlightenment.

By the grace of God my soul was preserved!. The Eastern Orthodox Church is the ancient Church. If one is searching for mystical fulfillment, sound spiritual doctrine and communion with God – all this can be found in Eastern Orthodox Christianity. All else pales in the Light of Christ and His Church.

Veronica Hughes

3 thoughts on “Historical Comment about the New Age from my You Tube Channel and my response:

  1. Veronica, you are a Godsend! I’ve been an Eastern Christian (Catholic headed to Orthodoxy) for five years now)I spent my twenties involved in all this stuff too, incuding course of Miracles and astrology, and came to the realization only recently that the gold glimmers in these philosophies

    are dangerously seductive stuff because they distract us from our true spiritual purpose, and tolerate sexual immorality. (As long as both parties aren’t hurting one another and are “true” to their heart or true self, and approach one another with love, then everything’s is permitted. Unfortunately, that can be used to justify having multiple partners in a year or even at the same time!)

    Yesterday I was so dismayed to talk to a friend who’s left Catholicism, due to poor catechism and understanding of Christianity, to join a Metaphysical church. I’m not good at apologetics, in part because I’m like a former smoker right now and have no patience for New Age or Unitarian type dabblers. I understand the allure, etc. but I’m just too intolerant to be of any use right now. At most, I told her to beware of Course in Miracles, because the author died a bad death and was spiritually tormented by the work.

    However, I remember that when I was involved in it all, I absolutely hated when Christians tried to tell me about traditional Christianity and probably would have turned to Christ earlier if it hadn’t been for the more abrasive Christians. I don’t want to set her back by completely turning her off and hardening her heart even more against Christianity…but. I still cannot. remain. silent.

    My mother is involved in Unitarianism and I have to bite my tongue to keep from making snarky remarks about their sampling but not committing to any religious path at all.(They held a sedar on Holy Saturday and,with all due respect for Judaism, the ignorance involved in that just saddened me.) She had bad childhood experiences and still judges Christianity based on what some people said or did. Of course, after sampling Buddhism, meditation, etc she and my friend see themselves as more knowledgeable about spirituality than your average “close minded” Christian along with that Gnostic touch that has them believing that they understand even Christianity better than Christian plebes; they have the inside scoop on the holy books that us commoners have distorted with our narrowminded insistence on being the only way.

    I know I can’t reach my mother at all, but I’m hoping that if I send your book to my friend that it’ll open her eyes.

    In Christ,
    Mary

    1. Dear Mary,

      Thank you so much for your heartfelt sharing. It is truly challenging to be with folks, especially those we love, stay out of judgment, and watch them enter into paths we know have only partial truth and can be potentially dangerous to their souls salvation. I pray for all my non-Christian family and friends and wrote my book for them and countless others. Hopefully my book will help plant new seeds in your friend’s heart. God knows what we need and as our will turns to Him and our hearts heal, even someone like me can see the Light! Hopefully, in God’s time, so will those we love.

      God bless you and thank you,

      Veronica

Leave a Reply

